Transitioning to SBG 2

After my last post, I started analyzing many of my standards to try to think what a 2 would look like versus a 3, 4, or 1 and vice versa. With some standards this was very easy, but for others I found this to be very hard. The more specific standards are very hard to break into four different levels. Then I ran into this  conversation between Frank Noschese and Bob Kuhn (couldn’t find the entire conversation that included many more collaborators, but this one covers a lot of the main ideas).

I feel that my standards are very granular and, with that said, I really like the idea of a three-point system as opposed to the, traditional (almost weird to use that word when referencing SBG), four-point system. However, for standards that are written more broadly, such as  Casey Rutherford’s , not that there’s anything wrong with any certain level of specificity.

One of the main hurdles I face with this sort of implementation is how to report it in PowerSchool. I really want to do everything I can to divorce learning levels from points. Frank mentioned that in Active Grade you can report with colors: green, yellow, red. PowerSchool doesn’t have anything comparable, to my knowledge. At this point it looks like I am going to have to just post 100 for green, 75 for yellow, and 50 for red. If anyone knows of any other methods I’d love to hear them.

I’m also still wrestling with my district’s required Formative-40% Summative-60% grading policy and how it’s going to fit in with my attempt at SBG. At this point I’m still planning on keeping only student’s most recent two attempts. Since I really care about retention, the most recent attempt will always be in the summative column. If the student already has one grade, then that one will be bumped down to the formative column, anything older will just be disregarded. The only other option I can see is to have 60% standards and 40% standards, but that would imply some are more important than others and I don’t think that I have set up my standards in that way. If I’m not mistaking, that is what  Kelly O’Shea has done with the “A” and “B” standards.

 

Leave a Reply

